Carrier, Robinson, Dennison, Christy, Cutler win on May 11th!


WHEELERSBURG, OH-It was a great night of racing at the Southern Ohio Speedway on Friday, May 11th.  A total of 66 cars and a large crowd was in attendance.

Salt Rock, West Virginia’s Eddie Carrier Jr. led the field to the green flag to start the nights 25 lap Late Model A-Main.  Carrier held off challenges from Rod Conley in the midpoint of the race to lead all 25 laps and take his third feature win of the season!  Rod Conley finished second with R. J. Conley third, Dillon White fourth, and John Melvin fifth.  Carrier won the dash race while Jason Perry won the heat race.

Todd Robinson took the lead at the start of the 20 lap Jordan Heating & Cooling UMP Modified A-Main with Dave Jamison in second.  Fast qualifier Jeremy Rayburn moved his way up to the third position in the races early going and set his sights on Jamison.  Jamison and Rayburn had a great side by side battle for the lead for the entire race, but all of this was about three car lengths behind Todd Robinson as he led every lap to take the $600 win!  Dave Jamison finished second with Jeremy Rayburn third, Kevin Graham fourth, and Luke Jordan fifth.  Robinson won the dash race while Luke Jordan and T. J. Harper won heat races.

Outside polesitter Wes Harmon made the pass on polesitter Shawn Aldridge to take the lead on the first lap of the GCP Engines Sport Mod A-Main.  With Harmon leading, an incredible race occured for the second position between Eric Dennison and Tim Robinson.  When a caution flag flew at the midway point of the race, that battle for second turned into a three way battle for the lead between Harmon, Dennison, and Robinson!  Dennison made the pass on Harmon to take the lead on lap 10 with Robinson moving into the second position.  Robinson made several strong runs on Dennison, but couldn’t make the pass as Dennison came across the checkers to take his second feature win in a row!  Robinson finished second with Harmon third, Danny McGowan fourth, and Harvey McGowan fifth.

The yellow #44 machine and Mike Christy had a great side by side battle for the lead at the start of the Classic Car A-Main.  Christy was able to clear the #44 machine on lap four and went on to lead the remaining laps to take the feature win!  The scariest moment of the nights came in the Classic Car division when Barboursville, West Virginia’s Jake Keaton rolled the car three times in hot laps.

Matt Yates and Tim Cutler battled side by side for the lead to start the 15 lap Street Stock A-Main.  The two remained side by side for the first four laps with Cutler clearing Yates on lap five to take the lead.  Cutler led Yates by about three car lengths for most of the race, until Yates made a last lap run.  Yates went high in turns 1 and 2 on the final lap and used the momentum to be right on Cutlers bumper going into turn 3!  Yates took his #11x machine way low in the corner, getting side by side with Cutler, but would spin out coming off of turn four!  Cutler would come across the line to take the feature win with Conard Newman in second, Joseph McClain third, Matt Yates fourth, and Keith Anderson fifth.  Yates and Cutler won heat races.

The Southern Ohio Speedway will be in action next on Friday, May 18th for “NASCAR Night” featuring NASCAR Sprint Cup driver Ken Schrader.  Schrader will be competing in the Jordan Heating & Cooling UMP Modified division.  On the racing card will be Jordan Heating & Cooling UMP Modifieds-$800 to win, Late Models-$2,000 to win, GCP Engines Sport Mods, and an Enduro at the end of the night.  Gates will open at 4:00 pm with hot laps at 7:30 pm.  General admission is $12 for ages 17+, $5 for ages 13-16, $2 for ages 7-12, and free for ages 6 and under.  Pit passes are $25 for ages 13+, $15 for ages 7-12, and free for ages 6 and under.  For more information visit

Complete Results

Late Models
Fast Qualifier-Eddie Carrier Jr.
Dash-Eddie Carrier Jr., Rod Conley, Paul Davis, Dillon White, R. J. Conley, Kenny Howell
Heat-Jason Perry, John Melvin, Josh Bivens, Matt Melvin, Carl Dillow II, Eddie Johnson, Jeremy Akers, Braden Roof, Billy Gullion, Greg Thompson
A-Main-Eddie Carrier Jr., Rod Conley, R. J. Conley, Dillon White, John Melvin, Eddie Johnson, Jason Perry, Braden Roof, Matt Melvin, Jeremy Akers, Greg Thompson, Josh Bivens, Paul Davis, Carl Dillow II, Kenny Howell (DNS: Billy Gullion)
Lap Leaders-Eddie Carrier Jr. (1-25)
Car Count-16

Jordan Heating & Cooling UMP Modifieds
Fast Qualifier-Jeremy Rayburn
Dash-Todd Robinson, Dave Jamison, Jake Keaton, Sammy Hobbs, Jeremy Rayburn, John Wade
Heat One-Luke Jordan, Bo Cox, David Fitzpatrick, Davey Warnock, Brian Skaggs, #37 Ross, #15 Conn, Judd Queen
Heat Two-T. J. Harper, Kevin Graham, Justin Mills, Harold Meadows, Jimmy Adams, Tommy McClain, Adam Colley
A-Main-Todd Robinson, Dave Jamison, Jeremy Rayburn, Kevin Graham, Luke Jordan, Jimmy Adams, Tommy McClain, #15 Conn, Brian Skaggs, Judd Queen, Davey Warnock, Bo Cox, T. J. Harper, Justin Mills, Jake Keaton, John Wade, Harold Meadows, David Fitzpatrick, Sammy Hobbs (DNS: #37 Ross, Adam Colley)
Lap Leaders-Todd Robinson (1-20)
Car Count-21

GCP Engines Sport Mods
Heat One-Shawn Aldridge, Eric Dennison, Mark Hall, Harvey McGowan, Kenny Neal
Heat Two-Wes Harmon, Tim Robinson, Colten Wright, Danny McGowan
A-Main-Eric Dennison, Tim Robinson, Wes Harmon, Danny McGowan, Harvey McGowan, Colten Wright, Shawn Aldridge, Mark Hall, Kenny  Neal
Lap Leaders-Wes Harmon (1-9), Eric Dennison (10-15)
Car Count-9

Classic Cars
Heat One-Mike Christy, #55, #6, #69, #85
Heat Two-#44, #4, #33, #9, #10
A-Main-Mike Christy, #44, #55, #69, #4,#99, #33 (DNS: #60, #85, Jake Keaton)
Lap Leaders-#44 (1-3), Mike Christy (4-15)
Car Count-10
*Note:  We will have names posted later this week, the sign-in sheet was left at the track.*

Street Stocks
Heat One-Matt Yates, Joseph McClain, Keith Anderson, Jeremy Conley, #51
Heat Two-Tim Cutler, Conard Newman, Chris Hunt, #25s,#17
A-Main-Tim Cutler, Conard Newman, Joseph McClain, Matt Yates, Keith Anderson, Chris Hunt, #51, #25s (DNS: Jeremy Conley, #17)
Lap Leaders-Matt Yates (1-4), Tim Cutler (5-15)
Car Count-10

Comments are closed.