Simon, Rayburn, Gray, Dennison, Carey win June 8th


WHEELERSBURG, OH-It was another beautiful night for racing at the Southern Ohio Speedway on Friday, June 8th.  Drivers from Ohio, Kentucky, West Virginia, Pennsylvania, California, Indiana, and Michigan were on hand to compete in the “3rd Annual Gene Comstock Memorial presented by EA Home Supply.”

Tipp City, Ohio’s Landon Simon took the lead to start the nights 25 lap BOSS Sprint Car Series A-Main.  It didn’t take long for the action to start as the red flag flew on lap 2 for an accident involving the #91c of Mark Cassello and the #59 of Kirk Jeffries.  Cassello got up in the air and was done for the night while Jeffries was able to continue on.  When the race resumed, Simon continued to lead the field while all eyes were on ninth place starter Chad Boespflug.  Boespflug worked the high and low line to pick cars off lap after lap.  Boespflug, a California native, moved his way all the way up to the second position with 5 laps to go.

Boespflug was making up ground pretty quick on Simon, but couldn’t get up to him as Landon Simon came across the line to lead all 25 laps and take his first career Sprint Car feature win!  Boespflug finished second with Adam Strausser third, Kirk Jeffries fourth, and Brandon Spithaler fifth.  Chad Boespflug, Aaron Middaugh, and Dustin Smith won heat races.

Jeremy Rayburn took the lead to start the nights Jordan Heating & Cooling UMP Modified A-Main with Jake Keaton in second.  Keaton kept his #10 machine right on the bumper of Rayburn for the races first four laps before he stopped on the track with mechanical problems.  When the race resumed, Rayburn continued to lead while the racing back through the field was fast and furious.  Rayburn went on to lead all 20 laps to take his fourth win of the season!  Brian Skaggs finished second with Luke Jordan third, Todd Robinson fourth, and Mike Long fifth.  Jake Keaton won the dash race while Luke Jordan and Todd Robinson won heat races.

In the nights 15 lap Street Stock A-Main, Bruce Gray Jr. took the lead at the start. Gray held off strong challenges from Tommy Mossbarger in the early stages of the race and Jamey Adams in the late stages to go on and lead all 15 laps and take his first career SOS feature win!  Jamey Adams finished second with Jim Helterbrand third, Tommy Mossbarger fourth, and Tim Cutler fifth.  Gray and Mossbarger won heat races.

Tim Scarberry took the lead to start the nights Sport Mod A-Main with Eric Dennison moving into the second position.  The two had a great side by side battle for the lead for several laps with Dennison makin ghte pass on lap 9.  Dennison went on to lead the remaining six laps to come to the checkers and take his third win of the season.  Danny McGowan finished second with Mark Hall third, Tim Scarberry fourth, and Kenny Parsons fifth.  Scarberry and Hall won heat races.

Brett Carey led all 15 laps of the nights Classic Car A-Main to take the big feature win.  Mike Christy finished second with James Matheny third, Nick Newman fourth, and John Morton fifth.  Carey also won the heat race.

The Southern Ohio Speedway will be in action next on Friday, June 15th for the “17th Annual Pepsi Southern 100.”  The Late Models will run three features on June 15th; two 25 lap, $2,000 to win qualifying features and a 50 lap, $10,000 to win championship feature.  The top 10 finishers in each qualifying feature will transfer into the 50 lap championship feature.  40 drivers will earn at least $200, 20 drivers at least $720, and a possible $12,000 total to win.  Jordan Heating and Cooling UMP Modifieds will also be racing for $1,000 to win along with an exhibition from the Vintage American Race Cars.

Gates will open at 4:00 pm with hot laps at 7:30 pm.  General admission is $25 for ages 17+, $20 for ages 13-16, $10 for ages 7-12, and FREE for ages 6 and under.  Pit passes are $40 for ages 13+, $25 for ages 7-12, and free for ages 6 and under.  For more information visit

Complete Results

BOSS 410 Non-Wing Sprint Cars
Heat One-Chad Boespflug, Tony Beaber, Kirk Jeffries, Mark Cassello, Jon Steed, Jeff Conrad
Heat Two-Aaron Middaugh, Chuck Wilson, Adam Strausser, Mike Galajda, Josh Slone
Heat Three-Dustin Smith, Landon Simon, Brandon Spithaler, Steve Irwin, Dwayne Spille, Ronnie Martini
A-Main-Landon Simon, Chad Boespflug, Adam Strausser, Kirk Jeffries, Brandon Spithaler, Dustin Smith, Tony Beaber, Chuck Wilson, Mike Galajda, Josh Slone, Steve Irwin, Jeff Conrad, Dwayne Spille, Aaron Middaugh, Jon Steed, Ronnie Martini, Mark Cassello (DNS: Lewie Christian)
Lap Leaders-Landon Simon (1-25)
Car Count-18

Jordan Heating & Cooling UMP Modifieds
Fast Qualifier-Dave Jamison
Dash-Jake Keaton, Jeremy Rayburn, Brian Skaggs, T. J. Harper, Kevin Graham, Dave Jamison
Heat One-Luke Jordan, Sammy Hobbs, Mike Long, Roger Wireman, Jimmy Adams, Bill Jenkins
Heat Two-Todd Robinson, Jeremy Landrum, Adam Colley, Brandon Oliver, Allen Dunaway, Bo Cox
A-Main-Jeremy Rayburn, Brian Skaggs, Luke Jordan, Todd Robinson, Mike Long, Bo Cox, Brandon Oliver, Allen Dunaway, Jimmy Adams, T. J. Harper, Roger Wireman, Sammy Hobbs, Adam Colley, Jeremy Landrum, Kevin Graham, Jake Keaton (DNS: Bill Jenkins, Dave Jamison)
Lap Leaders-Jeremy Rayburn (1-20)
Car Count-18

Street Stocks
Heat One-Bruce Gray Jr., Tim Cutler, Josh Brickey, Brandon Allen, Jason Spillman, Nick Brunton, Matthew Morris
Heat Two-Tommy Mossbarger, Jamey Adams, Jim Helterbrand, Conard Newman,  Cort Fisher, Keith Anderson
A-Main-Bruce Gray Jr., Jamey Adams, Jim Helterbrand, Tommy Mossbarger, Tim Cutler, Conard Newman, Brandon Allen, Keith Anderson, Matthew Morris, Josh Brickey, Cort Fisher, Jason Spillman, Nick Brunton
Lap Leaders-Bruce Gray Jr. (1-15)
Car Count-13

GCP Engines Sport Mods
Heat One-Tim Scarberry, Eric Dennison, Danny McGowan, Tony Whitt, Colten Wright, Kenny Neal, Ethan Bierhup
Heat Two-Mark Hall, Kenny Parsons, Bill Egbert, John Gillenwater,  Tim Lambert, Tim Robinson
A-Main-Eric Dennison, Danny McGowan, Mark Hall, Tim Scarberry, Kenny Parsons, Tony Whitt, Kenny Neal, Colten Wright, Bill Egbert, John Gillenwater, Ethan Beirhup (DNS: Tim Lambert, Tim Robinson)
Lap Leaders-Tim Scarberry (1-8), Eric Dennison (9-15)
Car Count-13

Classic Cars
Heat-Brett Carey, Mike Christy, Bruce Thompson, James Matheny, Nick Newman, Alvie Deal, John Morton, Terry Brumfield, Tex Perry
A-Main-Brett Carey, Mike Christy, James Matheny, Nick Newman, John Morton, Terry Brumfield, Alvie Deal, Tex Perry, Bruce Thompson
Lap Leaders-Brett Care (1-15)
Car Count-9

Comments are closed.