Eddie Carrier Jr. and Joey Kramer win “2nd Annual GCP Engines Southern Showdown”


WHEELERSBURG, OH-Despite heavy rain all around the region on Friday, July 13th, no rain hit the Southern Ohio Speedway allowing the “2nd Annual GCP Engines Southern Showdown” to continue on as scheduled.  Cars from Ohio, Kentucky, West Virginia, Indiana, and Illinois were in attendance.

In the 30 lap, $3,000 to win Late Model A-Main, Eddie Carrier Jr. took the lead at the start.  Carrier and second place runner Josh McGuire had a great battle for the lead in the early stages of the race with Carrier holding the lead.  On a restart around the midway point of the race, Ben Adkins was able to get by McGuire and set his sights on Carrier.  Carrier would lead the remaining laps to take his sixth feature win of the season!  Adkins finished second with Eric Christian third, Carl Dillow II fourth, and Shannon Thornsberry fifth.  Carrier and McGuire won heat races.

Indiana’s Joey Kramer held off challenges from Illinois driver Chad Kinder to lead all 30 laps and take the $3,000 “GCP Engines 30”!  Chad Kinder finished second with Jeremy Rayburn third, Chris Stotts fourth, and Devin Gilpin fifth.  Doug Adkins, Joey Kramer, and Jason Perry won heat races.

Competitors in the Classic Car feature weren’t only racing against each other, they were racing against mother nature.  A light drizzle began to fell as Mike Christy and Terry “Chumpy” Brumfield took the field to the green flag.  Christy was able to take the early lead with Brumfield right behind him.  While negotiating some lap traffic, Brumfield was able to make the pass on lap 7 and take the lead.  Just three laps later the rain began to come down harder, forcing the red/checkered flag to wave on lap 10.  Brumfield would take the win in the rain shortened feature with Christy second, Bruce Thompson third, John Morton fourth, and Nick Newman fifth.  Christy won the heat race.

The Southern Ohio Speedway will be back in action on Friday, July 20th for a full racing program featuring Late Models-$2,000 to win, Jordan Heating & Cooling UMP Modifieds-$600 to win, GCP Engines Sport Mods-Regular Purse, and an exhibition race for the ARS 3/4 scale Late Models.  Steel Block Late Models were originally on the racing card for the July 20th races but have been dropped.  Gates will open at 4:00 pm with hot laps at 7:30 pm.  General admission is $12 for ages 17 and up, $5 for ages 13-16, $2 for ages 7-12, and free for ages 6 and under.  Pit admission is $25 for ages 13 and up, $15 for ages 7-12, and free for ages 6 and under.  For more information visit www.southernohiospeedway.com.

Complete Results

Late Models
Fast Qualifier-Chris Meadows
Heat One-Josh McGuire, Chris Meadows, Ben Adkins, Jeremy Akers, Carl Dillow II
Heat Two-Eddie Carrier Jr., Shannon Thornsberry, Delmas Conley, Erick Christian, Jacob Curnutte
A-Main-Eddie Carrier Jr., Ben Adkins, Eric Christian, Carl Dillow II, Shannon Thornsberry, Josh McGuire, Delmas Conley, Jacob Curnutte, Chris Meadows, Jeremy Akers
Lap Leaders-Eddie Carrier Jr. (1-30)
Car Count-10

Jordan Heating & Cooling UMP Modifieds
Fast Qualifier-Chad Kinder
Heat One-Doug Adkins, Chad Kinder, Chris Stotts, Jake Keaton, Davey Warnock, Danny Ferguson, Devin  Gilpin, Judd Queen
Heat Two-Joey Kramer, Christian Baker, Eric Hatfield, Adam Colley, Eddie Harmon, Jason Hall, Kevin Mayabb
Heat Three-Jason Perry, Jeremy Rayburn, Sammy Hobbs, Brian Skaggs, Luke Jordan, Scott Lemaster, Todd Robinson
A-Main-Joey Kramer, Chad Kinder, Jeremy Rayburn, Chris Stotts, Devin Gilpin, Scott Lemaster, Kevin Mayabb, Jason Perry, Judd Queen, Christian Baker, Doug Adkins, Jason Hall, Brian Skaggs, Sammy Hobbs, Luke Jordan, Eddie Harmon, Jake Keaton, Eric Hatfield, Danny Ferguson, Matt Westfall, Adam Colley (DNS: Todd Robinson, Anthony Slusher)
Lap Leaders-Joey Kramer (1-30)
Car Count-23

Classic Cars
A-Main-Terry “Chumpy” Brumfield, Mike Christy, Bruce Thompson, John Martin, Nick Newman, Tex Perry
Car Count-7

Comments are closed.