Kory Crabtree wins “H&L Motorsports 25”; Stinson sets new track record


WHEELERSBURG, OH-It was a record breaking night at the Southern Ohio Speedway on Friday, August 10th when the OVSCA 410 Sprint Cars invaded the track.  Vandalia, Ohio’s Jimmy Stinson set a new track record in time trials with a lap time of 14.125 with an average speed of over 125 mph.

Jimmy Stinson and Kory Crabtree battled side by side for the lead to start the nights “H&L Motorsports 25” OVSCA 410 Sprint Car A-Main.  The two battled side by side for the first few laps with Stinson getting the race lead.  Stinson led through the races first caution flag on lap six.  On the restart, third place runner Nathan Skaggs battled side by side with Crabtree to battle side by side for the second position and set his sights on Stinson.  Skaggs was able to catch Stinson a few laps later as the two battled for the lead.  Skaggs stayed close to Stinson for the next four laps until Crabtree got around him on a lap 10 restart.  Another caution flag flew on lap 14 when fourth place runner Jesse McCreary spun.

On the restart, Crabtree went to the inside of Stinson as the two battled side by side for the lead through turns 3 and 4 inches apart from each other!  Crabtree was able to make the bold pass and take the race lead.  From there, Crabtree negotiated lap traffic to perfection to lead the final 11 laps and claim the $2,000 feature win!  Stinson finished second with Bloomington, Indiana’a Kody Kinser charging from eighth to finish third, Nathan Skaggs fourth, and Jim Nier charging from ninth to finish fifth.  Stinson and Crabtree won heat races.

Eddie Harmon and Jeremy Rayburn battled side by side to start the nights Jordan Heating & Cooling UMP Modified A-Main.  The two battled side by side for the opening lap with Rayburn able to make the pass coming off of turn four to take the lead.  From there, Rayburn dominated to claim his sixth feature win of the season.  Harmon finished second with Eric Hatfield third, Luke Jordan fourth, and Brian Whiteman fifth.  Harmon won the dash race while Adam Colley and Doug Adkins won heat races.

John Melvin dominated the nights 20 lap Steel Block Late Model A-Main to claim his first SOS feature win on the season.  Jamey Adams finished second with Brian Daniels third, Jeremy Akers fourth, and Carl Dillow II fifth.  Melvin and Tommy Twinam won heat races.

Tim Scarberry took the lead to start the nights GCP Engines Sport Mod A-Main.  The race took a scary turn in the early stages of the race when the steering box locked up on Eric Dennisons car, causing him to hit the inside guardrail on the frontstretch head on.  As soon as the car hit the car bursted into a fireball.  Dennison was able to get out of the car quickly and was ok.  When the race resumed, Scarberry and George Caldwell battled side by side for the lead with Scarberry able to pull away after a few laps.  The race win appeared to be Scarberry’s until the race took a dramatic turn under caution with two laps to go when Scarberry pulled in with mechanical problems.  This allowed Caldwell to inherit the lead as he led the final two laps to take the feature win.  Caldwell and Scarberry won heat races.

Terry “Chumpy” Brumfield led all 12 laps of the nights Classic Car A-Main to take his second feature win in a row.  The #55 car finished second with John Morton third, Mike Christy fourth, and Tex Perry fifth.  Mike Christy won the heat race.

The Southern Ohio Speedway will be in action next on Friday, August 17th for “Meet the Drivers Night” and the “Season Championships.”  During intermission all of the cars will be brought on the front stretch and the fan will be allowed to come out on the track and meet the drivers.  It will also be the last points race of the season.  On the racing card will be Late Models-$2,000 to win, Jordan Heating & Cooling UMP Modifieds-$600 to win, Street Stocks-$400 to win, GCP Engines Sport Mods-Regular Purse, and Classic Cars-Regular Purse.  General admission is $12 for ages 17 and up, $5 for ages 13-16, $2 for ages 7-12, and free for ages 6 and under.  Pit passes are $25 for ages 13 and up, $15 for ages 7-12, and free for ages 6 and under.  Gates open at 4:00 pm with hot laps at 7:30 pm.  For more information visit www.southernohiospeedway.com.

Complete Results

OVSCA 410 Sprint Cars
Fast Qualifier-Jimmy Stinson, 14.125
Heat One-Jimmy Stinson, Adam Strausser, Aaron Higgins, Josh Davis, Jim Nier, Ryan Broughton, Sam Ashworth
Heat Two-Kory Crabtree, Nathan Skaggs, Jesse McCreary, Kody Kinser, Eddie Slone, Dave Dickson, Bob Tucker
“H&L Motorsports 25”-Kory Crabtree, Jimmy Stinson, Kody Kinser, Nathan Skaggs, Jim Nier, Andre Layfield, Josh Davis, Ryan Broughton, Jesse McCreary, Dave Dickson, Sam Ashworth, Bob Tucker, Adam Strausser, Eddie Slone
Lap Leaders-Jimmy Stinson (1-14), Kory Crabtree (15-25)
Car Count-14

Jordan Heating & Cooling UMP Modifieds
Fast Qualifier-Jeremy Rayburn, 18.593
Dash-Eddie Harmon, Jeremy Rayburn, Luke Jordan, Eric Hatfield, Miles Cook, Brian Whiteman
Heat One-Adam Colley, Rick Hensley, Brian Skaggs, Aaron Pendleton, Austin Forbes, Brandy Hensley
Heat Two-Doug Adkins, Anthony Slusher, Tommy McClain, Matt Edmiston, Greg Anderson
A-Main-Jeremy Rayburn, Eddie Harmon, Eric Hatfield, Luke Jordan, Brian Whiteman, Doug Adkins, Anthony Slusher, Adam Colley, Aaron Pendleton, Tommy McClain, Rick Hensley, Brian Skaggs, Austin Forbes, Brandy Hensley, Jimmy Adams, Miles Cook (DNS: Mark Hall, Roger Wireman, Greg Anderson, Matt Edmiston)
Lap Leaders-Jeremy Rayburn (1-20)
Car Count-20

Steel Block Late Models
Heat One-Tommy Twinam, Jeremy Akers, Jamey Adams, Carl Dillow II, Chad Barr, Greg Thompson
Heat Two-John Melvin, Brian Daniels, Chris Burchett, Trevor Hall, Travis Pertuset
A-Main-John Melvin, Jamey Adams, Brian Daniels, Jeremy Akers, Carl Dillow II, Chris Burchett, Chad Barr, Trevor Hall, Tommy Twinam (DNS: Greg Thompson, Travis Pertuset)
Lap Leaders-John Melvin (1-20)
Car Count-11

GCP Engines Sport Mods
Heat One-George Caldwell, Tony Whitt Jr., Colton Wright, Shane Compton, Bill Egbert
Heat Two-Tim Scarberry, Kenny Parsons, Kenny Neal, Eric Dennison, Brianna Robinson
A-Main-George Caldwell, Kenny Parsons, Kenny Neal, Tim Scarberry, Colton Wright, Shane Compton, Bill Egbert, Brianna Robinson, Tony Whitt Jr., Eric Dennison
Lap Leaders-Tim Scarberry (1-13), George Caldwell (14-15)
Car Count-10

Classic Cars
Heat-Mike Christy, Terry “Chumpy” Brumfield, Tex Perry, #55, Nick Newman, Terry “Head” Brumfield, John Morton
A-Main-Terry “Chumpy” Brumfield, #55, John Morton, Mike Christy, Tex Perry, Terry “Head” Brumfield, Nick Newman
Lap Leaders-Terry “Chumpy” Brumfield (1-12)
Car Count-7

Comments are closed.