Lewis, Jordan, Whitt, Dunn win on September 29th


WHEELERSBURG, OH-It was a perfect, fall day for racing at the Southern Ohio Speedway on Saturday, September 29th for  “Fall Family Fun Night.” The racing surface was lightning fast and one of the tackiest it had been the entire season.

Robbie Lewis and John Melvin battled for the lead at the start of the nights Steel Block Late Model A-Main.  As the race wore on, Lewis began to pull away with Melvin trying multiple lines around the race track trying to catch back up to Lewis.  The race appeared to be won by Lewis until two lap cars got together right in front of Lewis on lap 15 with Lewis narrowly squeezing in between the two cars to avoid contact.  On the restart, Lewis continued to pull away to lead all 20 laps and take the feature win!  Melvin finished second with Joe Whitt third, Kenny McCann fourth, and Kenny Atkins fifth.  Lewis and Melvin won heat races.

Pedro, Ohio’s Brian Skaggs took the lead to start the nights Jordan Heating & Cooling UMP Modified A-Main.  By lap five, you could throw a blanket over the top four cars with Skaggs leading, Luke Jordan in second, Eddie Harmon third, and Todd Robinson in fourth.  On lap eight, Skaggs drifted up the track in turn two allowing Jordan to make the pass for the lead with Harmon and Robinson both passing Skaggs.  As the field made their way to the frontstretch, Robinson and the lap car of Bill Jenkins made contact with Skaggs making some contact as well and spinning.

When the race resumed, Jordan and Harmon had a great battle for the lead with Jordan maintaining about a five car length lead.  As the race reached it’s final few laps, Harmon began to mount a charge on Jordan and came up only a car length short coming to the checkered flag with Luke Jordan taking his first feature win at SOS!  Harmon finished second with Bo Cox third, Robert Garnes fourth, and Davey Warnock fifth.  Brian Skaggs won the dash race while Davey Warnock and Mark Hall won heat races.

What was perhaps the most exciting GCP Engines Sport Mod race of the season took place on Saturday night.  Danny Hamilton took the lead to start the race with all eyes on 13 year old Tyler Smith during the first part of the race.  Smith, in his first ever time driving a race car, charged from eighth all the way up to fourth in the first two laps of the race until a flat tire from contact took Smith out of the race.  When the race resumed, Tony Whitt Jr. quickly moved up into the second position and began a great side by side battle with Hamilton.  The two battled side by side lap after lap and we’re still side by side heading off of turn four coming to the checkered flag!  Whitt was able to hang on and win in a side by side finish at the line with Hamilton second, Harvey McGowan third, Colton Wright fourth, and Kenny Neal fifth.  Danny Hamilton and Phil Colley won heat races.

David Dunn led every lap of the nights Street Stock A-Main to claim his first feature win of the season!  Richard Mitchell finished second with Roger Kepler third and Mike Drake fourth.  Richard Mitchell won the heat race.

The September 29th races have concluded what has been a great season of racing at SOS.  The management and staff of Southern Ohio Speedway would like to extend a special thanks to all of the fans and race teams for all of their support this year.  The 2013 schedule is nearly complete and is expected to be released this fall.  Another aggressive schedule is planned.  Please stay tuned to the track’s website at www.southernohiospeedway.com often this offseason for all the news about the 2013 season, 2012 season review articles, and 2013 season preview articles.

Complete Results

Steel Block Late Models
Fast Qualifier-Robbie Lewis, 18.356
Heat One-Robbie Lewis, Adam Jordan, Greg Thompson, Cameron Logan, Carl Dillow II
Heat Two-John Melvin, Joe Whitt, Kenny Atkins, Kenny McCann, Evan Terry
A-Main-Robbie Lewis, John Melvin, Joe Whitt, Kenny McCann, Kenny Atkins, Cameron Logan, Evan Terry, Carl Dillow II, Adam Jordan (DNS: Greg Thompson)
Lap Leaders-Robbie Lewis (1-20)
Car Count-10

Jordan Heating & Cooling UMP Modifieds
Fast Qualifier-Todd Robinson, 18.474
Dash-Brian Skaggs, Luke Jordan, Robert Garnes, Eddie Harmon, Todd Robinson, Miles Cook
Heat One-Davey Warnock, Charlie Floyd, Steve Reeves, Bill Jenkins, Danny McGowan, Tom Finley, Jake Bickers
Heat Two-Mark Hall, Gary Parsons, Mike Estep, Kevin Graham, Bo Cox, Bob Hurst Jr., Adam Colley, Josh Brickey
A-Main-Luke Jordan, Eddie Harmon, Bo Cox, Robert Garnes, Davey Warnock, Brian Skaggs, Mark Hall, Danny McGowan, Gary Parsons, Charlie Floyd, Mike Esep, Bill Jenkins, Tom Finley, Todd Robinson (DNS: Miles Cook, Adam Colley, Richie Edwards, Kevin Graham, Josh Brickey, Steve Reeves, Jake Bickers)
Lap Leaders-Brian Skaggs (1-8), Luke Jordan (9-20)
Car Count-23

GCP Engines Sport Mods
Heat One-Danny Hamilton, Tony Whitt Jr., Kenny Neal, Tyler Smith, Harvey McGowan
Heat Two-Phil Colley, Bill Egbert, Colton Wright, Brianna Robinson, Alan Kiser
A-Main-Tony Whitt Jr., Danny Hamilton, Harvey McGowan, Colton Wright, Kenny Neal, Brianna Robinson, Phil Colley, Alan Kiser, Bill Egbert, Tyler Smith
Lap Leaders-Danny Hamilton (1-12), Tony Whitt Jr. (13-15)
Car Count-10

Street Stocks
Heat-Richard Mitchell, Dean Hall, Roger Kepler, Mike Drake, Tim Aldridge, David Dunn
A-Main-David Dunn, Richard Mitchell, Roger Kepler, Mike Drake (DNS: Dean Hall, Tim Aldridge)
Lap Leaders-David Dunn (1-12)
Car Count-6

Comments are closed.