Montgomery, Adkins, Dennison, Brister, Perdue win April 26th!


WHEELERSBURG, OH-It was a record breaking night at the Southern Ohio Speedway on Friday, April 26th for the “Southern 100 Tune-Up” as both Josh McGuire and Todd Robinson set new track records in time trials.  Another good crowd was in attendance.

Grayson, Kentucky’s Josh McGuire took the lead to start the nights 25 lap Late Model A-Main as Jason Montgomery quickly passed R. J. Conley to move into the second position.  Montgomery immediately caught up to McGuire as the two had a great battle for the lead.  For much of the race Montgomery stayed within 2-3 car lengths of McGuire as McGuire would run the middle groove while Montgomery ran down low.  The two stayed this way as coming to the white flag McGuire slipped a little bit high of turn four passing a lap car, allowing Montgomery to get underneath him as the two were side by side as the crossed the flagstand to take the white flag!  Montgomery drove hard into turn one and made the pass to stick to take the lead and come across the checkers to make a last lap pass to win!  McGuire finished second with R. J. Conley third, Greggie Oliver fourth, and Joe Ramey fifth.  Josh McGuire won the dash race while Greggie Oliver won the heat race.

Doug Adkins and Todd Robinson battled side by side for the lead to start the nights Modified A-Main.  The two battled side by side on the opening lap with Robinson slowing a lap later with what looked to be a flat tire.  On the restart, Adkins and new second place runner Jason Montgomery battled side by side for the lead!  The two battled lap after lap with Jeremy Rayburn joining the mix to make it a three car battle for the lead! At one point the trio was three wide for the lead off of turn four!

The race took a dramatic turn on lap 13 when Montgomery spun while battling for the lead and collected Rayburn.  Rayburn had to pull off with a flat tire while Montgomery continued.  When the race restarted, Dave Jamison was now in second and immediately went after Adkins for the lead!  Jamison stayed right with Adkins the remainder of the race as they were nose to tail coming to the white flag!  Jamison stayed with Adkins through turns one and two and drove the car in deep into turn three to battle side by side with Adkins and make the pass in the middle of the turn, only to have Adkins come back underneath him!  Off of turn four the two were wide by side in a drag race to the start/finish line with Adkins edging out Jamison by two feet to take the win!  Travis Dickson finished third with Mark Dickson fourth and Adam Jordan fifth.  Doug Adkins won the dash race while Brian Skaggs and Hubie Hatfield won heat races.

Tim Scarberry led the opening four laps of the nights of the nights GCP Engines Sport Mod A-Main with Mike Newton taking the lead on lap five.  Last years track champion Eric Dennison came right up on Newton as the two battled side by side for the lead!  Dennison was able to make the pass on lap eight and led the remaining laps to take the feature win!  Brianna Robinson finished second with Phil Colley third, Josh Tibbs fourth, and Kenny Neal fifth.  Danny Hamilton, Tim Scarberry, and Tony Whitt Jr. won heat races.

Barry Brister scored his third feature win of the season in the Pure Stock division with Jerren Perdue making a last lap pass to score a very exciting win in the Legends car division.

The Southern Ohio Speedway returns to action this weekend for the biggest weekend of racing in the tracks 46 year history.  The 18th Annual Southern 100 weekend will take place on Friday, May 3rd with the Southern 100 Qualifier and Saturday, May 4th with the Southern 100 Championship.  Friday nights show will feature Late Models-$4,000 to win, Modifieds-$800 to win, and a regular show for the GCP Engines Sport Mods.  Saturday nights show will feature Late Models-$12,000 to win, Modifieds-$1,000 to win, a regular show for the Pure Stocks, and a $250 to win Enduro at the end of the night.  Gates will open at 4:00 pm both nights with hot laps at 7:30 pm on Friday and 7:00 pm on Saturday.  For more information visit

Late Models
Fast Qualifier-Josh McGuire, 16.064 (New Track Record)
Dash-Josh McGuire, R. J. Conley, Jason Montgomery, Kenny Howell, Joe Ramey, Billly Gullion
Heat-Greggie Oliver, Delmas Conley, Tommy Carlton, Brian Daniels, Daniel Kattine, Jeremy Akers
A-Main-Jason Montgomery, Josh McGuire, R. J. Conley, Greggie Oliver, Joe Ramey, Delmas Conley, Billy Gullion, Tommy Carlton, Brian Daniels, Kenny Howell, Danial Kattine (DNS: Jeremy Akers, Paul Davis)
Lap Leaders-Josh McGuire (1-24), Jason Montgomery (25)
Car Count-13

Fast Qualifier-Todd Robinson, 18.134 (New Track Record)
Dash-Doug Adkins, Todd Robinson, Travis Dickson, Jason Montgomery, Jeremy Rayburn, Eric Hatfield
Heat One-Brian Skaggs, Davey Warnock, Chris Shelton, Michael Poe, Tyler Allison, Hubie Hatfield
Heat Two-Dave Jamison, Mark Dickson, Adam Jordan, Rick Hensley, Luke Jordan
A-Main-Doug Adkins, Dave Jamison, Travis Dickson, Mark Dickson, Adam Jordan, Jason Montgomery, Chris Shelton, Matt Edmiston, Jeremy Rayburn, Eric Hatfield, Brian Skaggs, Rick Hensley, Tyler Allison, Davey Warnock, Luke Jordan, Todd Robinson, Michael Poe (DNS: Hubie Hatfield)
Lap Leaders-Doug Adkins (1-20)
Car Count-18

GCP Engines Sport Mods presented by Tomahawk Race Cars
Heat One-Danny Hamilton, B. J. Bowman, Chris Shelton Jr., Tony Whitt Sr., Makayla Jarrell, Phil Colley
Heat Two-Tim Scarberry, Luke Jordan, Mike Newton, Jimmy Spillman, Billy Lanthorn, Eric Dennison
Heat Three-Tony Whitt Jr., Colten Wright, Tyler Smith, Kenny Neal, Brianna Robinson, Josh Tibbs
A-Main-Eric Dennison, Brianna Robinson, Phil Colley, Josh Tibbs, Kenny Neal, Makayla Jarrell, Jimmy Spillman, Tony Whitt Sr., Billy Lanthorn, Tony Whitt Jr., Mike Newton, Colten Wright, Tyler Smith, Chris Shelton Jr., B. J. Bowman, Luke Jordan (DNS: Danny Hamilton)
Lap Leaders-Tim Scarberry (1-4), Mike Newton (5-7), Eric Dennison (8-15)
Car Count-18

Pure Stocks
A-Main-Barry Brister, Ray Scott, Justin McNutt
Car Count-3

Winner-Jerren Perdue
Car Count-7
*Full results to be posted on Sunday*

Comments are closed.