Crabtree, Rayburn, Dennison, Brisker win on June 7th


WHEELERSBURG, OH-It was a perfect day for racing at the Southern Ohio Speedway on Friday, June 7th for the OVSCA 410 Sprint Cars and the McGowan Race Parts 20.  A good crowd was on hand to witness what was a wild night of racing on a smooth and fast racing surface.

The nights 25 lap OVSCA 410 Sprint Car feature started with Jim Nier taking the lead.  Nier jumped out to a half straightaway lead with Kory Crabtree in second and Jimmy Stinson in third.  By lap ten, the leaders began to encounter heavy lapped traffic as this allowed Crabtree to get right up to Nier.  Nier and Crabtree then began a side by side battle for the lead with Crabtree making a bold pass through traffic to take the lead!  Stinson was also able to catch up to Nier as those two battled side by side for second for several laps.  On lap 20, Stinson finally made the pass on Nier for second and set his sights on Crabtree.

Stinson gained ground on Crabtree fast and with two laps to go was right on Crabtree’s tail!  Stinson then put his #84 machine up high and was side by side with Crabtree for the lead in turns 3 and 4!  Then the whole complexion of the race changed as Rick Fraley hit the wall off of turn four right in front of the leaders leaving Stinson with nowhere to go but into the back of Fraley.  This caused the front of Stinsons car to get up in the air and slam the inside guardrail while Fraley went hit the concrete wall hard and then was hit by Adam Strausser who had nowhere to go.  This sent Fraley flipping down the frontstretch and sent Strausser airborne into the inside guardrail, collecting Nathan Skaggs in the process.  Thankfully, all drivers walked away uninjured from what was a nasty wreck.  The wreck brought out a lengthy red flag.

When the race resumed for the green-white-checkered finish, 18 year old Kory Crabtree was able to hold off Jim Nier to take the win!  Nier finished second with Josh Davis third, Trey Gustin fourth, and Andre Layfield fifth.  Jim Nier was fast qualifier with a lap time of 14.980 at an average speed of 108.14 mph.  Nier, Crabtree, and Stinson won heat races.

Lucasville, Ohio’s Jeremy Rayburn took the lead to start the nights Modified A-Main with Doug Adkins in second and Todd Robinson third.  Rayburn got out to a big lead as the best race on the track was the side by side battle for third between Robinson and Adam Jordan.  On lap 15, the race changed complexion when Adkins exploded a tire, bringing out a caution flag and forcing him to retire from the race.  On the restart, Jeremy Rayburn was able to hold off Robinson to claim his first feature win of the season!  Robinson finished second with Adam Jordan third, Dave Jamison fourth, and Richie Edwards fifth.

Eric Dennison and Danny Hamilton battled for the lead at the start of the nights “McGowan Race Parts 20” GCP Engines Sport Mod presented by Tomahawk Race Cars A-Main.  Those two had an excellent battle for the lead all race long until Hamilton spun with five laps to go.  Dennison was able to hold on the final five laps to take his second feature win of the season!  Todd Brumfield finished second with Tyler Smith third, Danny Hamilton fourth, and Phil Colley fifth.  Hamilton, Dennison, and Tony Whitt Jr. won heat races.

The Southern Ohio Speedway will be back in action this Friday, June 14th for the “3rd Annual Southern Showdown” featuring a $3,000 to win Late Model show and $800 to win Modified show.  GCP Engines Sport Mods and Pure Stocks are also on the racing card.  General admission is $15 (ages 17 and up), $5 (ages 13-16, $2 (ages 7-12), and free (ages 6 and under).  Pit passes are $30 (ages 13 and up), $20 (ages 7-12), and free (ages 6 and under).  For more information visit

Complete Results

OVSCA 410 Sprint Cars
Fast Qualifier-Jim Nier, 14.980
Heat One-Jim Nier, Josh Davis, Aaron Higgins, Dave Dickson, Andre Layfield, Adam Strausser
Heat Two-Kory Crabtree, Nathan Skaggs, Trey Gustin, Ryan Broughton, Greg Mitchell, Jesse McCreary
Heat Three-Jimmy Stinson, Sam Ashworth, Lance Webb, Wes McGlumphy, Rick Fraley, John Shewbrooks
A-Main-Kory Crabtree, Jim Nier, Josh Davis, Trey Gustin, Andre Layfield, Sam Ashworth, Nathan Skaggs, Ryan Broughton, Dave Dickson, Wes McGlumphy, Greg Mitchell, John Shewbrooks, Aaron Higgins, Lance Webb, Rick Fraley, Jimmy Stinson, Adam Strausser, Jesse McCreary
Lap Leaders-Jim Nier (1-14), Kory Crabtree (15-25)
Car Count-18

Fast Qualifier-Jeremy Rayburn, 18.531
Heat-Jeremy Rayburn, Doug Adkins, Adam Jordan, Todd Robinson, Dave Jamison, Brian Skaggs, Richie Edwards, Josh Ross
A-Main-Jeremy Rayburn, Todd Robinson, Adam Jordan, Dave Jamison, Richie Edwards, Brian Skaggs, Doug Adkins, Josh Ross
Lap Leaders-Jeremy Rayburn (1-20)
Car Count-8

GCP Engines Sport Mods presented by Tomahawk Race Cars
Heat One-Danny Hamilton, Sam Hobbs, Emily Jordan, Wade Miller, Tony Whitt Sr., George Caldwell, Jason Crager, Colten Wright
Heat Two-Eric Dennison, Todd Brumfield, Brianna Robinson, Dwayne Hurley, Derek Richmond, Phil Colley, John Gillenwater
Heat Three-Tony Whitt Jr., Kenny Neal, Danny McGowan, Harvey McGowan, Jimmy Spillman, Tyler Smith, Mike Newton
McGowan Race Parts 20-Eric Dennison, Todd Brumfield, Tyler Smith, Danny Hamilton, Phil Colley, Harvey McGowan, Wade Miller, Kenny Neal, Tony Whitt Sr.,  Dwayne Hurley, George Caldwell, Brianna Robinson, Danny McGowan, Emily Jordan, Tony Whitt Jr., Jimmy Spillman
Lap Leaders-Eric Dennison (1-20)
Car Count-22

Pure Stocks
A-Main-Barry Brisker

Comments are closed.