Hamilton, Murdock, Perdue, Anderson, Richmond win September 28th


WHEELERSBURG, OH-The first ever free general admission night in the 45+ year history took place at the Southern Ohio Speedway on Saturday, September 28th.  A good crowd was in attendance with a total of 61 race cars in the pits.

The biggest storyline going into the night was the battle for the Sport Mod track championship between Danny Hamilton, Eric Dennison, and Colten Wright.  The championship battle took a dramatic turn early in the night as championship contender Colten Wright blew a motor in time trials and was done for the night.  In the 15 lap feature, Dennison and Hamilton started side by side on the front row after polesitter Tony Whitt broke on the first lap.  Hamilton was able to lead every lap of the feature to claim his fourth win of the season and clinch the 2013 track championship!  Eric Dennison finished second with Brianna Robinson third, Gary Parsons fourth, and Weston Crosby fifth.  Tony Whitt won the dash race while Chris Shelton and Tony Whitt Jr. won heat races.

Lamarr Murdock took the feature win in the Pure Stock division.  Ron Williams, driving the championship winning #5 machine for track champion Barry Brisker, finished second with Ray Scott third and Gene White fourth.  Ron Williams won the heat race.

Veteran Scioto County racer Keith Anderson took the win in the 4 cylinder division.  Austin Forbes, driving a car owned by Anderson, finished second with Randy Johnson third, Ray Forbes fourth, and Brandon Buckner fifth.  Tim Howard and Keith Anderson won heat races.

Jerren Perdue won the April 26th Legends Car race at Southern Ohio Speedway and won another exciting Legends Car feature on Saturday by outrunning 16 year old Steven Partin by just a few car lengths.  Rusty Demint finished third with John Francis fourth and Tom Partin fifth.  Jerren Perdue and Rusty Demint won heat races.

Derek Richmond won the nights 20 lap Enduro event.

The Southern Ohio Speedway will be back in action this upcoming Saturday, October 5th with the “5th Annual Black Jack & Farley Boggs Memorial Race” featuring Late Models-$3,000 to win, Modifieds-$800 to win, GCP Engines Sport Mods presented by Tomahawk Race Cars, Pure Stocks, and Enduros.  Gates will open at 2:00 pm with hot laps at 5:00 pm.  General admission is $15 (ages 17 and up), $8 (ages 13-16), $2 (ages 7-12), and free (ages 6 and under).  Pit passes are $30 (ages 13 and up), $20 (ages 7-12), and free (ages 6 and under).  For more information visit www.southernohiospeedway.com.

Complete Results

GCP Engines Sport Mods presented by Tomahawk Race Cars
Fast Qualifier-George Caldwell, 19.599
Dash-Tony Whitt, Danny Hamilton, Eric Dennison, Jimmy Adams, Weston Crosby, George Caldwell
Heat One-Chris Shelton., Wade Miller, Phil Colley, Tyler Smith, Billy Lanthorn, Austin Noel, Derek Richmond
Heat Two-Tony Whitt Jr., Brianna Robinson, Mark Noel, Gary Parsons, Makayla Jarrell, Emily Jordan
A-Main-Danny Hamilton, Eric Dennison, Brianna Robinson, Gary Parsons, Weston  Crosby, Tyler Smith, Emily Jordan, Makayla Jarrell, George Caldwell, Chris Shelton, Wade Miller, Derek Richmond, Phil Colley, Billy Lanthorn, Tony Whitt Jr., Jimmy Adams, Mark Noel, Tony Whitt (DNS: Austin Noel, Colten Wright, Austin Markins)
Car Count-21

Pure Stocks
Fast Qualifier-Ron Williams
Heat-Ron Williams, Ray Scott, Gene White (DNS: Lamarr Murdock)
A-Main-Lamarr Murdock, Ron Williams, Ray Scott, Gene White
Car Count-4

4 Cylinders
Heat One-Tim Howard, Randy Johnson, Brandon Buckner, Robert Coleman
Heat Two-Keith Anderson, Austin Forbes, Ray Forbes
A-Main-Keith Anderson, Austin Forbes, Randy Johnson, Ray Forbes, Brandon Buckner, Tim Howard
Car Count-7

Legend Cars
Heat One-Jerren Perdue, Steven Partin, John Francis, John Getmas, Rob Puckett
Heat Two-Rusty Demint, Tom Partin, Steve Duderstadt, Dustin Crags, Derick Minshew
A-Main-Jerren Perdue, Steven Partin, Rusty Demint, John Francis, Tom Partin, Rob Puckett, Dustin Crags, Steve Duderstadt, Derick Minshew
Car Count-10

Derek Richmond, Jeremy Crockett, Dustin Gwinn
Car Count-19

Comments are closed.