Event Preview: Friday, May 2nd, 19th Annual Southern 100


WHEELERSBURG, OH-The highest paying, most prestigious race of the season is set for this Friday, May 2nd at the Southern Ohio Speedway with the 19th Annual Southern 100!  The exciting racing card will feature Super Late Models-$10,000 to win (60 laps), Modifieds-$1,000 to win (25 laps), GCP Engines Sport Mods-$500 to win (15 laps), and an Enduro at the end of the night paying $300 to win.

Southern 100 History
The Southern 100 originated in 1976 with Billy Teegarden taking the inaugural win.  Over the years, the race grew in prestige and at one point was the second most prestigious Dirt Late Model race in the country, only behind the World 100.  Some of the biggest names in the sport have taken wins in this historic race.  After a 14 year hiatus, the Southern 100 returned in 2012 with Eddie Carrier Jr. winning the event.  Last season Wooster, Ohio’s Doug Drown took the win.  The race has ran many different formats but one thing remains the same, the Southern 100 is a can’t miss race that every driver wants to say he/she has won.

Southern Trophy History
The Famed Southern Trophy is one of the most impressive trophies in all of motorsports.  Designed by former SOS promoter Mike Jewell, the trophy is over 7 feet tall.  The first Famed Southern Trophy was presented in 1998 and has been presented ten times since then.  Jewell chooses an event each season to present the trophy at.

Some of the sports biggest names have taken home The Famed Southern Trophy.  Previous winners are Billy Moyer (1988), Donnie Moran (1989), Delmas Conley (1990), “Black” Jack Boggs (1991), Paul Harris (1992), Eddie Carrier Jr. (2008), Mike Marlar (2009), Greg Johnson (2010), Jerry Rice (2011), Eddie Carrier Jr. (2012), and Doug Drown (2013).  The trophy has been presented to the Southern 100 winner since the year 2012.

Super Late Model Preview
The Super Late Models will run a 60 lap, $10,000 to win show for the Southern 100 title.  Preliminary action will see time trials (1 lap), heat races (10 laps), B-Main(s) (12 laps), and the 60 lap feature event.  The racing is expected to be intense as drivers race for the top prize, prestige of being a Southern 100 winner, and prestige of being a Southern Trophy winner.

Last season, Doug Drown took the win in a feature event that had six lead changes.  Drown is scheduled to come back this season to defend his Southern 100 crown and try to become a two time winner of the event.  Jackie Boggs, a two time Southern 100 winner, is carrying a lot of momentum into the event.  Boggs has won the past two Super Late Model races at SOS, including the $3,000 to win season opener a few weeks ago.  Boggs has won a $10,000 event in the modern era of SOS as he won the 2011 Southern 50.

Last year’s Super Late Model track champion R. J. Conley finished second in last year’s Southern 100 and had a top five finish in the 2012 Southern 100.  R. J. has never won the Southern 100 and is carrying momentum heading into the event as he ran second most of the 30 lap feature on Opening Night before experiencing mechanical problems.  Meanwhile, R. J.’s father Delmas, a three time Southern 100 champion, carries a lot of momentum as he has finished second in the last three Super Late Model races at SOS.  Rod Conley is also a former Southern 100 champion and will be chasing his second Southern 100 crown this weekend.

Other drivers to watch for include Shannon Thornsberry, Jason Montgomery, and Jared Hawkins.  Thornsberry, a driver who has picked up some big wins, has finished strong in his last two races at SOS which includes a third place finish on Opening Night.  Jason Montgomery has been fast everytime he has been to SOS and is another driver looking to pick up his biggest career victory on Friday.  Fairmont, WV driver Jared Hawkins took the $6,000 Southern 50 win last July and will look to add a Southern 100 win to his resume.

Friday will also be the end of the Road to the Southern 100 mini-series that took place at the track during the month of April.  The driver highest in Super Late Model points after the last Road to the Southern 100 event on April 25th that does not make the feature will receive a provisional into the Southern 100 on Friday.  Unfortunately, rain was the biggest winner in the Road to the Southern 100 as three of the four events were rained out.  With the one race complete, the first five drivers in line for the provisional are Jackie Boggs, Delmas Conley, Shannon Thornsberry, Joe Ramey, and Kenny Howell in that order.  Boggs is essentially guaranteed a spot into the Southern 100 feature event.

Modified Preview
The Southern 100 this season will also be a big event for the Modifieds as it will pay $1,000 to the winner of the 25 lap feature.  It  Joey Kramer has won both Southern 100 Modified features over the previous two seasons.  In fact, Kramer has finished no worse than second at SOS and won all but one race he has competed in at the track.  Kramer will be looking to continue his streak in Southern 100 Modified events.

A whole field of drivers that include the likes of Jeremy Rayburn, Brian Skaggs, Todd Robinson, Doug Adkins, and Jason Montgomery will be looking to end Kramer’s perfect streak in Southern 100 Modified features. Rayburn took the win on Opening Night and is the winningest driver in SOS new-era Modified history.  Brian Skaggs had a strong second place finish on Opening Night and also had a $1,000 win last season.  Jason Montgomery recovered from contact with the turn four wall while battling for the lead on Opening Night to take a fourth place finish.  Todd Robinson and Doug Adkins are top runners at SOS who had problems during Opening Night.

Friday’s show is the highest paying race of the season for the Modified division.

GCP Engines Sport Mod Preview
For the first time ever, the GCP Engines Sport Mods will have a huge part in the Southern 100.  The popular division will also have it’s highest paying race of the season on Friday as they will battle for $500 to win.  The division consistently gets the highest car counts at SOS and puts on some of the most competitive racing.  Emily Jordan won the Opening Night feature and will be chasing the big $500 to win prize on Friday.  Last year’s track champion Danny Hamilton, 2012 track champion Eric Dennison, and Tony Whitt Sr. and Jr. are among many, many others who will also be chasing after the big prize in what will be an excellent show.

Enduro Preview
At the end of the night, the Enduro cars will hit the speedway for a special $300 to win Enduro.  This Enduro will be the highest paying Enduro of the season.

Complete event payouts can be found HERE.  It should also be noted that there is no additional entry fees outside of the pit passes.

Times and Admission Prices
Gates will open at 4:00 pm on Friday with hot laps schedule for 7:15 pm.  General admission is $25 (ages 17 and up), $20 (ages 13-16), $10 (ages 7-12), and FREE (ages 6 and under).  Pit passes are $35 (ages 13 and up), $30 (ages 7-12), and FREE (ages 6 and under).

For more information visit www.southernohiospeedway.com.

Comments are closed.