Event Preview: Friday, May 16th, Spring Shootout


WHEELERSBURG, OH-Following an off week on May 9th, the Southern Ohio Speedway is set for action again on Friday, May 16th with the Spring Shootout featuring OVSCA 410 Sprint Cars, WRS Late Models, GCP Engines Sport Mods, Pure Stocks, and Enduros.

OVSCA 410 Sprint Car Preview
The stars and cars of the Ohio Valley Sprint Car Association invade the Southern Ohio Speedway for the first of three appearances no Friday.  The OVSCA 410 Sprints are the fastest cars that will hit the track this season as they turn laps at an average speed of over 110 mph.  With speeds so high, the racing action is intense.

Not only do the OVSCA 410 Sprints produce high speed action, they also produce some of the most thrilling racing action of the season.  Last year, youngster Kory Crabtree passed Jim Nier on lap 15 and held off a hard charging Jimmy Stinson to take his second SOS OVSCA win in a row.  Nier is always fast at SOS as he has only been beaten at the track a handful of teams.  Jimmy Stinson, nephew of SOS Hall of Fame driver Charlie Swartz, is also one of the top Sprint drivers at SOS.  Part of the storylines for Friday will revolve around these three drivers.  Can Crabtree win 3 in a row?  Can Nier get back to victory lane at SOS?  Can Stinson claim his first ever SOS win?

Friday’s show will be the third race of the season on the 2014 OVSCA tour.  Nathan Skaggs and Kory Crabtree have won the previous two events.  Marietta, Ohio’s Dave Dickson currently leads the points with Wes McGlumphy in second and Brian Benson in third.  Nathan Skaggs and Kory Crabtree are tied for fourth while Andre Layfield and Greg Mitchell are tied for fifth.

WRS Late Model Preview
The WRS Late Models will have their inaugural race at SOS on Friday.  Race fans will see no visual difference between the WRS Late Models and Super Late Models and will see many of the same cars that compete in the Super Late Model division.  The only difference between the two classes is the WRS Late Models must run a steel block and must run a 1300 or harder tire rule.  This class is expected to produce some of the most exciting and competitive racing of the season as it will be wide open on who will win every week.

Friday will be one of five special event races for the WRS Late Models as they will pay $1,000 to win.  A top quality field of drivers is expected to be on hand as every driver wants to say that they won the first WRS Late Model event.  Some of the top runners expected include Super Late Model winner Danial Kattine, former SOS Bomber track champion Conard Newman, Jeff Arnold, Gary Turner, asphalt Late Model winner Shane Koontz, multi time PRP track champion John Melvin, Matt Melvin, and Super Late Model winner Michael Myers among many others.

GCP Engines Sport Mod Preview
The GCP Engines Sport Mods are expected to put on a great show on Friday.  Emily Jordan took the Opening Night win and since then has taken two feature wins at other area race tracks.  Danny Hamilton finished second to Jordan last year and has taken a feature win at another area race track.  The Sport Mods are always exciting as we look forward to another great show with them on Friday.

Pure Stock Preview
Lamar Murdock took the Pure Stock win on Opening Night and will be looking to repeat on Friday.  Since Opening Night one month ago, additional Pure Stocks have been built and will be in attendance on Friday.

Enduro Preview
Following the final feature event of the season, Enduros will hit the track for 10 minutes, followed by 10 laps.  Justin Miller won the Opening Night Enduro

Times and Admission Prices
Gates will open at 4:00 pm with drivers meeting at 7:00 pm, Sprint Car engine warmups at 7:15 pm, and hot laps at 7:30 pm.  General admission is $15 (ages 17 and up), $5 (ages 13-16), $2 (ages 7-12) and free (ages 6 and under).  Pit passes are $30 (ages 13 and up), $20 (ages 7-12) and free (ages 6 and under).  Special event ticket pricing is in effect for this event as fans will see two specials; the OVSCA 410 Sprints and $1,000 to win WRS Late Model special.

For more information visit www.southernohiospeedway.com.

Comments are closed.