Conley, Rayburn, Jordan win on May 15th


WHEELERSBURG, OH-It was another great night of racing at the Southern Ohio Speedway on Friday, May 15th for the Buckeye 25.  Cars from Ohio, Kentucky, West Virginia, and Indiana were in attendance to compete for over $15,000 in total purse money.  A fast, smooth racing surface saw qualifying times only a 1/2 second off the track record.

Drama started right from lap one in the Late Model feature as Josh Bocook and R. J. Conley got tangled up in turn one with Dennis Little and Paul Davis being collected in the incident.  By SOS rule, if there is a multi car accident on lap one, everyone gets their spot back.  Bocook was unable to continue on so that moved R. J. Conley up to the outside pole.  On the second attempted start, Conley, running up high, took the lead off of turn two with Stephen Breeding running in second and Steve Casebolt third.

Conley started pulling away up front while the battle for second between Breeding and Casebolt was side by side lap after lap.  Minford, Ohio’s Audie Swartz moved up to fourth and battled side by side with Casebolt for third.  The two battled for several laps until Swartz spun in turns 3 and 4.  On the restart, Conley continued to pull away out front as there was now a three way battle for second between Breeding, Casebolt, and Kenny Howell.  The action throughout the field was fast and furious with side by side racing lap after lap, but up front R. J. Conley kept pulling away to come to the checkers and take his second win of the season!  Stephen Breeding finished second (his third consecutive second place finish) with Casebolt third, Howell fourth, and Steve Lucas fifth.  Breeding won the dash race while Swartz and Lucas won heat races.

The Modified feature was a repeat of what we have seen in the closing laps the past couple of races.  Jeremy Rayburn jumped out to the lead with Todd Robinson on his tail lap after lap.  The battle for the lead stayed within a few car lengths for the large majority of the race.  As the race got down to it’s closing laps, Rayburn started pulling away a little bit to come to the checkered flag and claim his fourth win in a row!  Robinson finished second with Aaron Pendleton third, Adam Colley fourth, and Brian Wilburn fifth.  Rayburn also won the heat race.

Emily Jordan took the lead at the start of the Sport Mod feature with Eric Dennison in second.  Behind the front two, the action was fast and furious with side by side racing lap after lap.  Two of the sports young guns, Brianna Robinson and Tyler Smith, made incredible charges to the front of the pack.  Robinson was running in third prior to mechanical problems forcing her to pull in.  Jordan would take the win with Dennison in second, Smith third, Billy Baldridge fourth, and Randy Cline fifth.

The Southern Ohio Speedway is off on May 22nd but will be back in action on Friday, May 29th for round #5 of the Southern Ohio Championship Series featuring Late Models, Modifieds, and Sport Mods.  For more information visit

Late Models
Fast Qualifier-R. J. Conley, 15.90
Dash-Stephen Breeding, Josh Bocook, Kenny Howell, R. J. Conley, J. T. Conley, Steve Casebolt
Heat One-Audie Swartz, Nick Bocook, Dennis Little, Paul Davis
Heat Two-Steve Lucas, Rod Conley, Billy Gullion, Ellis Cook
A-Main-R. J. Conley, Stephen Breeding, Steve Casebolt, Kenny Howell, Steve Lucas, Billy Gullion, Nick Bocook, Rod Conley, Audie Swartz, Ellis Cook, Josh Bocook, Dennis Little, Paul Davis (DNS: Delmas Conley, J.T. Conley, Jake Keaton)
Car Count-16

Fast Qualifier-Jeremy Rayburn, 18.50
Heat-Jeremy Rayburn, Adam Colley, Aaron Pendleton, Todd Robinson, Brian Wilburn, Colten Wright, George Caldwell
A-Main-Jeremy Rayburn, Todd Robinson, Aaron Pendleton, Adam Colley, Brian Wilburn, George Caldwell, Colten Wright
Car Count-7

Sport Mods
Heat One-Tony Whitt, Alan Gulley, Billy Bowles, Phil Cox, Billy Baldridge, Jeremy Cassidy, Harold Meadows, Allan Hunt, Danny Fout, David Dunn
Heat Two-Emily Jordan, Eric Dennison, Tyler Smith, Brianna Robinson, Randy Cline, Jimmy Spillman, Dustin Pressler, Bryson Nickel, Joe Arnold
A-Main-Emily Jordan, Eric Dennison, Tyler Smith, Billy Baldridge, Randy Cline, Tony Whitt, Harold Meadows, Allan Hunt, Brianna Robinson, Bryson Nickel, Dustin Pressler, Jimmy Spillman, Phil Cox, Jeremy Cassidy, Billy Bowles, Danny Fout (DNS: David Dunn, Joe Arnold)
Car Count-19

Comments are closed.