Sprint Cars Return To Southern Ohio Speedway


WHEELERSBURG, OH-After receiving many requests from fans to see Sprint Cars at the Southern Ohio Speedway this season, track officials have booked an all open wheel event on Friday, May 27th, the “Open Wheel Shootout.”

The “Open Wheel Shootout” will feature 3 Sprint Car classes and 2 Modified classes as the OVSCA 410 Sprints, Ohio Thunder RaceSaver 305 Sprints, Southern Ohio Lightning Mini-Sprints, AMRA Modifieds, and Sport Mods will be on the racing card.  This will be the first time in the track’s modern era that an all open wheel event will be held.

Southern Ohio Speedway has a rich history of open wheel racing.  Many of the sports biggest names such as Steve Kinser, Danny Smith, Dale Blaney, Jac Haudenschild, Jeff Swindell, and Kenny Jacobs among many others have all raced at the famed Wheelersburg, Ohio speed plant.  The track has held four 410 Sprint Car events in the modern era, with Kory Crabtree (2), Jim Nier, and Taylor Ferns taking the feature wins.  The track record on the old configuration was a 14.00 at 115.71 mph from Michigan’s Taylor Ferns.

For more information on the Southern Ohio Speedway visit www.southernohiospeedway.com.

Comments are closed.