Conley, Rupe, Hamilton, Howard win Charlie Floyd Memorial Benefit on April 29th!


WHEELERSBURG, OH-It was a very special night at the Southern Ohio Speedway on Friday, April 29th, as we raced in memory of Charlie Floyd with lots of fundraising efforts to raise money for the family.  Fundraising efforts included a huge raffle and 50/50 from the Porter Township Fire Department, sponsorship program from the track, and many vendors on hand who contributed.  All efforts were successful in raising a lot of money for the family.

In the nights 25 lap AMRA STARS Late Model A-Main, polesitter R. J. Conley stormed into the lead with Stephen Breeding in second and April 15th winner Kevin Wagner in third.  The racing from fourth on back was as intense as you will see between Robbie Lewis, Mark Frazier, Bill Staker, and Travis Brookover.  As the race reached it’s halfway mark, Breeding began to cut into R. J. Conley’s 10 car length lead he had held for most of the race.  By the time the race got to 5 laps to go, Breeding had cut Conley’s lead down to three car lengths as the two both split lapped cars going three wide!  Conley was able to get through the traffic first and win by about five car lengths over Breeding in second!  Kevin Wagner finished third with Mark Frazier fourth, and Robbie Lewis fifth.  Conley and Breeding won heat races.

It was a very emotional victory lane as Charlie’s dad Charlie Floyd Sr., fiance Quin Rosenburg, and many members of the Floyd family joined the Conley crew in victory lane.  After the victory lane ceremonies, Conley had Charlie Floyd Sr. drive his car back to the pits as Conley walked through the grandstands, greeting fans going back to the pits.

The nights 20 lap AMRA Modified A-Main was some of the most intense Modified action that has been seen at SOS.  At the start, the field went four wide battling for positions within the top five!  Polesitter Jesse Rupe led with Eric Hatfield right on his rear in second.  On lap two, while battling for the lead, Hatfield spun off of turn four but all cars avoided him and everyone continued.  When the race resumed, Rupe jumped out to about a six car length lead while the battle for second was intense between Mark Dickson and Brian Skaggs.  The two battled lap after lap with Dickson running the middle and Skaggs the bottom.  The two made contact going into turn three on lap 16 with both cars retiring from the race after the accident.

When the race resumed, new second place runner Clint Keenan took a look underneath of Rupe on the restart and then Rupe pulled away by 6-7 car lengths to come to the checkers and take the win!  Keenan finished second with Brandon Smith third, Eric Hatfield fourth, and David McWilliams fifth.  Rupe and Joe Hamon won heat races.

The nights 15 lap Sport Mod A-Main was full of action.  Completing lap one, race leader Eric Dennison and second place runner Emily Jordan made contact with both cars spinning and having to go to the tail.  On the restart, Tony Whitt inherited the lead and had a great battle for the lead with second place runner Danny Hamilton.  By lap five, Jordan moved her way into the third position to make it a three car battle for the lead with Whitt leading!  Hamilton was able to get by Whitt and take the lead with Jordan following him to move into second.  Hamilton led the remaining laps to take the win with Jordan in second, Whitt in third, Derek Richmond fourth, and Zack Vanhoose fifth.

Tim Howard passed Robbie Matheny on lap number five of the 10 lap shootout segment to win the Enduro.  A total of 18 Enduro cars was on hand.

The Southern Ohio Speedway returns to action this Friday, May 6th for Little League Night.  All Little League baseball/softball players in uniform will get in free.  The exciting racing card will feature AMRA Late Models, AMRA Modifieds, Sport Mods, Fastrak Crate Late Models, and an Enduro.  Gates open at 4:00 pm with hot laps at 7:15 pm.  General admission is $12 (ages 17 and up), $5 (ages 13-16), $2 (ages 7-12), and FREE (ages 6 and under).  Pit passes are $30 (ages 13 and up), $20 (ages 7-12), and FREE (ages 6 and under). For more information visit

Complete Results

AMRA STARS Late Models
Fast Qualifier-R. J. Conley
Heat One-R. J. Conley, Kevin Wagner, Robbie Lewis, Travis Brookover, Larry Martin Jr., Paul Moore
Heat Two-Stephen Breeding, Bill Staker, Mark Frazier, Joel Prosser, Derek Fisher, Darren Kattine
A-Main-R. J. Conley, Stephen Breeding, Kevin Wagner, Mark Frazier, Robbie Lewis, Larry Martin Jr., Travis Brookover, Joel Prosser, Paul Moore, Darren Kattine, Bill Staker, Derek Fisher
Car Count-12

AMRA Modifieds
Fast Qualifier-Jesse Rupe
Heat One-Jesse Rupe, Eric Hatfield, Mark Dickson, Adam Jordan, Jim Lemaster, Jimmy Adams, Matt Watson, Billy Bowles, Adam Colley
Heat Two-Joe Hamon, Brian Skaggs, Clint Keenan, Brandon Smith, David McWilliams, Adam Stricker, Pete Brunton, #23, Mike Cooper
A-Main-Jesse Rupe, Clint Keenan, Brandon Smith, Eric Hatfield, David McWilliams, Jimmy Adams, Adam Jordan, Pete Brunton, #23, Brian Skaggs, Mark Dickson, Matt Watson, Adam Stricker, Jim Lemaster, Mike Cooper, Joe Hamon (DNS: Adam Colley, Billy Bowles)
Car Count-19

Sport Mods
Heat One-Eric Dennison, Zack Vanhoose, Alan Gulley, Derek Richmond, Jimmy Spillman, Joe Arnold, Bill Smith
Heat Two-Tony Whitt, Emily Jordan, Danny Hamilton, Allan Hunt, Nick Phillips, Myron Shaffer
A-Main-Danny Hamilton, Emily Jordan, Tony Whitt, Derek Richmond, Zack Vanhoose, Jimmy Spillman, Allan Hunt, Nick Phillips, Alan Gulley, Joe Arnold, Eric Dennison (DNS: Myron Shaffer)
Car Count-13

Winner-Tim Howard
Car Count-18

Comments are closed.