Breeding, Keenan, Jordan, Matheny win on May 6th!


WHEELERSBURG, OH-It was another exciting night of racing at the Southern Ohio Speedway on Friday, May 6th for Little League Night.  Picture perfect weather greeted spectators and race teams as the third race of the season got underway.

The nights AMRA Late Model feature got exciting right from the start as Stephen Breeding, Robbie Lewis, and Billy Gullion went three wide for the lead off of turn two!  Breeding came out of the turn with the lead with Gullion right on his tail in second.  Off of turn four Breeding and Gullion then battled side by side for the lead to complete lap one!  After a couple of laps of battling, Breeding using highside momentum maintained the lead with Gullion in second and a great battle for third between Derek Fisher and Kevin Wagner.  Those two swapped the third position several times in the first half of the race.

A lot of eyes were also on three time SOS track champion and last weeks winner R. J. Conley in the #71c.  Conley was forced to start the race next to last because of a flat tire in his heat race. The Wheelersburg, Ohio driver moved steadily through the field and by lap 6 had made his way up to the top five.  After a great battle with Kevin Wagner, Conley moved into the fourth position on lap 12 then set his sights on third place runner Derek Fisher.  Conley got by Fisher with four laps remaining in the race to move up to third.

Up front, it was all Isom, Kentucky’s Stephen Breeding as he stretched his lead out to come to the checkers and lead every lap of the caution free race to take his first career SOS win!  Billy Gullion had a career SOS best finish of second with hard charger R. J. Conley in third, Derek Fisher in fourth, and Kevin Wagner in fifth.  Robbie Lewis and Stephen Breeding won heat races.

The nights AMRA Modified feature saw a lot of action as polesitter Eric Hatfield took the lead from the start with fourth place starter Clint Keenan moving into the second position by lap two.  A caution flew on lap six for Cody Mayabb who got into the wall of turn four.  On the restart, Keenan looked underneath of Hatfield to go side by side for the lead!  Coming off of turn two on lap six Keenan got underneath Hatfield in turn two to take the lead.  Hatfield wasn’t done though as he looked back underneath of Keenan in turn three.  Coming off of turn four the two made contact with both cars sideways!  Somehow they both kept going without spinning with Keenan leading, Hatfield in second, and Brian Skaggs in third.

As the laps wore on in the race, Keenan maintained a 1-2 car length lead over Hatfield with Skaggs right on the bumper of Hatfield, battling side by side for several laps.  Keenan started to pull away some in the latter portion of the race until a caution fell with 2 laps to go, setting up a green-white-checkered finish.  On the restart, Keenan pulled out to a few car length lead with  great side by side battle for second between Hatfield and Skaggs.  Keenan would come off of turn four on the final lap to take his first career SOS win with Eric Hatfield in second, Brian Skaggs third, Jimmy Adams fourth, and Joe Hamon in fifth.  Eric Hatfield and Brian Skaggs won heat races.

Yet another exciting race took place in the Sport Mod division.  Polesitter Emily Jordan jumped out to the lead with last weeks winner Danny Hamilton in second.  Jordan and Hamilton then went into a side by side battle for the lead that lasted for multiple laps.  Jordan ran the middle of the track with Hamilton running the low side in what was a close, exciting race.  Eric Dennison was right behind them in third as you could of thrown a blanken over the top three cars!  Several times the three drivers were just inches apart from each other in the battle for the lead and second place but never made contact in a great show of driving.  Jordan maintained the lead through all of the laps of battling and towards the latter stages of the feature developed a 3-4 car length lead.

Just like in the AMRA Modified feature, a caution flag would fly with two laps remaining setting up another green-white-checkered finish.  On the restart, something happened to second place runner Danny Hamilton’s car as his car was not up to full song.  That allowed Eric Dennison to move into second place and have a shot for the win on the final lap!  Dennison pushed hard, but Jordan was able to maintain her two car length lead to come to the checkers and take her first SOS win this season!  Eric Dennison finished second with Tony Whitt third, Zack Vanhoose fourth, and Danny Hamilton fifth.  Emily Jordan and Danny Hamilton won heat races.

It was another exciting Enduro as Robbie Matheny and the #8up car swapped the lead a couple of times in the event with Justin McNutt running in third.  Matheny would take the lead for good around the halfway mark and come to the checkers to take the win!

The Southern Ohio Speedway will be off this upcoming Friday, May 13th for the first scheduled off weekend of the season.  The track will be back in action on Friday, May 20th for Kids Night featuring AMRA Late Models, AMRA Modifieds, Sport Mods, Fastrak Crate Late Models, and an Enduro.  With Kids Night, all kids 12 and under will get in general admission free.  General admission is $12 for ages 17 and up and $5 for ages 13-16.  Pit passes are $30 for ages 13 and up, $20 for ages 7-12, and free for ages 6 and under.  Gates will open at 4:00 pm with hot laps at 7:15 pm.

For more information visit

Complete Results

AMRA Late Models
Fast Qualifier-Robbie Lewis
Heat One-Robbie Lewis, Billy Gullion, Derek Fisher, Kirk Phillips, Jason Perry
Heat Two-Stephen Breeding, Kevin Wagner, Joe Whitt, R. J. Conley
A-Main-Stephen Breeding, Billy Gullion, R. J. Conley, Derek Fisher, Kevin Wagner, Robbie Lewis, Kirk Phillips, Jason Perry, Joe Whitt
Car Count-9

AMRA Modifieds
Fast Qualifier-Jesse Rupe
Heat One-Eric Hatfield, Jimmy Adams, Mike Cooper, Jesse Rupe
Heat Two-Brian Skaggs, Clint Keenan Joe Hamon, Cody Mayabb
A-Main-Clint Keenan, Eric Hatfield, Brian Skaggs, Jimmy Adams, Joe Hamon, Cody Mayabb, Mike Cooper, Jesse Rupe
Car Count-8

Sport Mods
Heat One-Emily Jordan, Alan Gulley, Allan Hunt, Jimmy Spillman, Zack Vanhoose, Jason Spillman
Heat Two-Danny Hamilton, Eric Dennison, Tony Whitt, Nick Phillips, Dustin Pressler
A-Main-Emily Jordan, Eric Dennison, Tony Whitt, Zack Vanhoose, Danny Hamilton, Nick Phillips, Jimmy Spillman, Allan Hunt, Alan Gulley, Jason Spillman (DNS:  Dustin Pressler)
Car Count-11

Winner-Robbie Matheny
Car Count-14

Comments are closed.