The Southern Ohio Speedway, located in Wheelersburg, Ohio, is one of the most historic race tracks in the state of Ohio.  The track hosted it’s first race on June 9th, 1967 with Super Modifieds as the main class.  That first race was won by legendary driver Wayne McGuire, who went on to claim the Super Modified championship that season.

From there, SOS would rise to being one of the most popualr speedways in the midwest.  Many of the sports biggest names, including Delmas Conley, Charlie Swartz, Jack Boggs, and Steve Francis all got their starts racing at Southern Ohio Speedway.  The track was also well known for it’s popular “Southern 100” race that was at one time, the second largest Late Model race in the country, only behind the World 100.

Despite it’s past successes, SOS faced it’s darkest days from the year 2000-2010.  The track remained shut down from 2000-2002 until it was reopened in 2003.  SOS ran a full season in 2003, then only ran a few shows in the 2004 and 2006 seasons.  After 2006, the track sat overgrown and in near ruins.  Many thought the track would never see a race again.

Then in May of 2011, H&L Motorsports, LLC reached a deal to reopen the legendary track.  After a 61 day total renovation of the facility, the track opened again on July 15th, 2011 to a packed grandstand and pit area.  The 2011 season was a big success and now the speedway heads into 2012 with a bright future under the new management group.

Click HERE to view a list of the past track champions.

Click HERE to view a list of the past Southern 100 winners.

Click HERE to view a lit of modern-era (2011 and beyond) feature winners in all classes at SOS.